Employees who have worked more than 40 hours a week are eligible to receive a salary 1.5 times the minimum limit. The daily overtime hours are not limited by Ohio laws.
Ohio Minimum Wage for 2021
The Ohio Minimum Wage changed in 2008 last time. Then it was raised from $ 7 to $ 8.80 per hour. You should know that Ohio’s minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index (which is meant to raise the rate along with inflation). Also based on these values, the Minimum Wage Rate is revised every year.
Thus, at the moment Ohio’s state minimum wage is $ 8.80 per hour or $ 352.00 per 40 hour week. This salary is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $ 7.25. Also note that you are eligible for a higher government minimum wage. Please note that the Minimum Wage applies to most Ohio employees with the exception of some students, tipped employees, and others.
What Is Minimum Wage In Ohio Now?
As stated, the current Minimum Wage is $ 8.80 per hour and the tip is $ 4.40. Tipped employees are any employees who are engaged in work where they receive a regular tip of more than $ 30 per month. Those employers who use the tip credit provision must be able to confirm that such employees receive at least the minimum wage when the salary amount and the tip amount are added together.
Important! Note that minor employees who are under 16 and other employees whose companies have income of less than $ 314,000 may be paid the Federal Minimum Salary, which is $ 7.25 an hour.
You should also be aware that disabled or handicapped workers may have wages that are below the Ohio minimum wage (if the employer has a certificate from the Ohio Department of Commerce).
How Much Can You Earn With The Ohio Minimum Wage?
If you receive an Ohio minimum wage of $ 8.80 an hour and work 40 hours a week 52 weeks a year, then your wage is $ 18,304 a year. Your weekly salary will be $ 352 and your daily salary will be $ 70.40.
What Is Ohio Overtime Minimum Wage?
The overtime minimum wage will of course be different from the normal Ohio minimum wage. Thus, any employee who has worked more than 40 hours a week is eligible for a minimum wage that is at least 1.5 times the normal Ohio minimum wage. Also, you should be aware that Ohio law does not set a daily limit for overtime work.
Remember that FLSA guarantees all OH employees to receive overtime compensation for all overtime hours. Thus, if your employer does not pay you money for overtime work, you can always file an unpaid overtime claim with the Ohio Department of Labor and get your money.
What Are Ohio Minimum Wage Exceptions?
The Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines specific minimum wage rates for certain types of workers. Thus, some people may earn less than the Ohio minimum wage if they fall into one of the following categories:
1. The minimum wage in Ohio under 20 is $ 4.25. You are profitable to know that federal law allows an Ohio employer to pay a new employee who is under 20 a training wage of $ 4.25 per hour (within the first 90 days of work).
2. The Ohio Minimum Wage for students is $ 7.48. Young people who are in high school or college and work full-time are eligible to receive about 85% of the Ohio minimum wage, which is $ 7.48 per hour (for 20 hours of work per week from selected employers).
3. Ohio Tipped Minimum Wage must be at least $ 8.80. Those employees who earn a certain amount of tips each month may have lower cash wages. However, it’s worth knowing that they still need to earn at least $ 8.80 including tips every hour.